Gabriela Rivadeneira, the first female president in the history of the Ecuadorian Congress

The congresswoman of the ruling party, Gabriela Rivadeneira, was elected president of the Ecuadorian Congress. Photo: Eduardo Flores / Andes

Quito, May 14th, (Andes) – The congresswoman of the current ruling party, Gabriela Rivadeneira, was elected as president of Ecuador’s Congress in an unprecedented success in the history of Ecuador’s legislative body. Rivadeneira achieved 107 votes in her favor.

The congresswoman from Guayas, Maria Alejandra Vicuna, was who nominated Gabriela Rivadeneira for Alianza PAIS. The opponent, Lourdes Tiban, nominated Jose Acacho.

Rivadeneira arrived to Congress leading the party of the Alianza PAIS movement and winning 3,498,379 votes. She served as vice-mayor of Otavalo in the period from 2006-2008; city councilor from 2004-2008; vice-prefect of Imbabura from 2009-2011; and provincial governor of Imbabura from between 2011 and 2012.

According to a publication by the newspaper, El Telegrafo, Gabriela is married to writer Luis Flores, who she has known for 15 years. They have two children, Paul (5) and Martin (3). She is the oldest of four siblings, Lizeth (25), Tatiana (23), and Pedro (17).

The legislative majority, Alianza PAIS, a few days ago, selected the dignitaries who would lead Congress for the period 2013-2017.

In addition to Gabriela Rivadeneira, Rossana Alvarado will be the first vice-president, and Marcela Aguinaga, the second vice-president. Rosanna Alvarado was a congresswoman in the previous period and was reelected in the general elections on February 17th. Meanwhile, Marcela Aguinaga will exercise her role as minister of Environment.

Congress has a total of 55 women, which is to say, four out of every ten Ecuadorian members of congress are women (40.14%). 

Add new comment

Los comentarios publicados aquí son responsabilidad de quien los emite; la Agencia Andes implementa un mecanismo de auto regulación y puede decidir no publicar comentarios que lesionen los derechos consagrados en la Constitución y la Ley. (Ley de Comunicación, Art. 20).